The Depths of Squalor

So far from the suburbs
So far from the city
Where no one is bothered
Where nothing is scenic

Where darkness envelopes
Where the children would wail
If they plan to elope
they would be bound to fail

A mother would be dead
Another orphan pleads
Mother cries giving birth
Another mouth to feed

Everyday feels like night
There is no hope it seems
Poverty steals hope’s light
Collecting shattered dreams

So far from the suburbs
So far from the city
Where progress is curbed
Nothing left but pity


My editor wanted to challenge me on writing a 5-stanza poem, with rhymes and a meter. Not really a great poet but I tried my best. And it’s pretty okay, for me. 🙂

The featured image you see is a photo I borrowed from http://www.cookiesound.com , showing a view of my country’s slums. Now that a recent typhoon had just hit land (but now is out of my region) in Metro Manila, I hope they would be okay.
Enjoy the weekend, though, for the rest of you!
-SW
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Arjane Joy Bermas says:

    Nice poem, steph 😀 You’re really great :))(

    Like

    1. S. Warren says:

      Awww! Thanks, Ate Arj! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

